Must Read Monday: Cold Sassy Tree

I am going to speculate that Cold Sassy Tree by Olive Ann Burns was a part of your assigned summer reading during grade school. This was definitely the case for me and I will shamefully admit that I didn’t really read the book. Sure, I flipped through its 391  pages during my family vacation, but I wasn’t really paying attention. Recently I decided to reread the book and it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made! It was about eight years since the first time that I read Cold Sassy Tree and it is amazing how your current perspective of life will change the way you think about a novel.

Just to give you a small recap of the book, recent widow at general store proprietor, E. Rucker Blakeslee elopes with Love Simpson, an attractive Yankee who is also half is age! While this sparks a wildfire of gossip in Cold Sassy, Georgia it truly is just the beginning. The reader is given an insight to the family (and scandal) through the eyes of Will Tweedy, grandson of Rucker Blakesless. There is so much tragedy, triumph, faith and hope in this novel that is worth reading it even if its for the second time!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

